Skip to main content
Gerry | Vanagon
Checking account...
← vanagon.com home · Continue the discussion in the forum
VanagonEuroVan
Subject:Re: Cali DMV questions
From:Stacie Wunsch
Date:Mon, 16 Mar 2009 19:45:30 -0600

My experience with the CA DMV is as follows:

- You have 20 days to register it and I forgot to lie and paid the
penalty (you can put a date that's within 20 days, I mistakenly was
honest).
- You have to pay CA tax on the Blue/Black Book value, if there isn't
a blue/black book value, they have some calculation to figure it out,
so you'll pay it regardless, even if you say you bought it for a
dollars.
- I've known people that have had out of state cars for years in CA
and never registered them.  However, a friend who was pulled over  for
speeding was also given a 'fix it' ticket because the cop said he'd
seen her car in these parts for the last year. (This was in Tahoe, if
you're in a college town, it may be different.)
- Lastly, I have an '82 Vanagon and I had major work done in order to
pass the smog test there, which varies by county.  I think you're
exempt from that if it's a 70's vehicle, but I am not sure.  All I
know if my mechanic did the stuff to make it happen.  CA does have a
program to help you, should your vehicle fall into that category.

That's all I got,

Stace
82 Vanagon -- The SolShine

On Mar 16, 2009, at 6:19 PM, Rocket J Squirrel wrote:

> We're looking at buying a car for my daughter here in Oregon (no sales
> tax) and driving it to CA. Registration fees are a lot less
> expensive here
> than down there. Are there any limitations on how long a car
> registered
> out of state can be driven in California? If you have an out of state
> address?
> --
> Mike "Rocket J Squirrel" Elliott
> 84 Westfalia: Mellow Yellow ("The Electrical Banana")
> 74 Utility Trailer. Ladybug Trailer, Inc., San Juan Capistrano
> Bend, OR
> KG6RCR

Have something to add on this topic today? Revive this thread in the forum »